August 23, 2020, St. Louis Region – World Wide Technology Raceway’s 2020 Carl’s 4WD & Performance ET Bracket Racing Series concluded at 1:30 a.m. on August 23. Due to a rainout earlier in the month, the season ended with two complete bracket series events run in one day. A total of 365 cars and motorcycles entered the one-day, two-show event.

Between Wide Open Wednesday (August 19), Midnight Madness (August 21) and the bracket series finale on August 22, a total of 986 individual race entries competed at the NHRA-sanctioned drag strip located in Madison, Illinois, just five minutes from downtown St. Louis.


2020 Bracket Series champions:

Super Pro – Kevin Prior won the final in the sixth and last race of the series and claimed the title.

Pro – Clay Tyler won over John Ratulowski using tiebreakers.

Sportsman – Aaron Hagen was third in points going into the final day but managed to claim his second consecutive title.

Motorcycle – Going into Saturday, Scott Leonard just about had it won and only needed to go a few rounds to clinch.

Jr. Dragster Thunder – Sarah Stewart won her second consecutive championship. Sarah had a perfect season, winning five of the six races. The driver’s worst points race is thrown out; hence Sarah was five-for-five.

Jr. Dragster Lightning – Sam (Sarah’s brother) also won his second consecutive title – another first (back-to-back brother-sister Jr. Dragster championships) at WWTR.

High School – O’Fallon Township student Amana Miller won the Wednesday-night series.


Race No. 5 final-round winners:

Super Pro – Jason McKague (Ballwin, MO) defeated Corey Landolt (Hermann, MO).

Pro – John Ratulowski (Highland, IL) defeated son Danny Ratulowski (Highland, IL).

Sportsman – Craig Powell (St. Louis) defeated Jeremy Rosenstengel (Belleville, IL).

Motorcycle – Nick Stewart (Brighton, IL) defeated Terry Smith (St. Louis).

Jr. Dragster Lightning – C-Jay Kilkenny (West Plains, MO) defeated Lilly Kinne (Canton, IL).

Jr. Dragster Thunder – Sarah Stewart (Washington, MO) defeated Carson Lonas (Mount Vernon, IL).

Jr. Dragster Runoff – Sarah Stewart defeated C-Jay Kilkenny.


Race No. 6 final-round winners:

Super Pro – Kevin Prior (Warrenton, MO) defeated Steve Schneider (Collinsville, IL).

Pro – Jesse Garcia (St. Louis) defeated Kevin Corzine (Florissant, MO).

Sportsman – Craig Powell (St. Louis) defeated Dom Garcia (Fairmont City, IL).

Motorcycle – Mark Abrams (Bethalto, IL) defeated Scott Leonard (Glen Carbon, IL).

Jr. Dragster Lightning – Sam Stewart (Washington, MO) defeated Kennedy Hale (Pevely, MO).

Jr. Dragster Thunder – Sarah Stewart (Washington, MO) defeated Cohen Hale (Pevely, MO).

Jr. Dragster Runoff – Sarah Stewart (Washington, MO) defeated Sam Stewart (Washington, MO).

For additional information on World Wide Technology Raceway, please call (618) 215-8888. Follow WWTR on Facebook, Parler, Twitter, Snapchat and Instagram.


About World Wide Technology Raceway

World Wide Technology Raceway is the home of INDYCAR, NASCAR and NHRA racing in the St. Louis region. Located just five minutes from downtown St. Louis and covering more than 600 acres, WWTR is the largest outdoor entertainment facility in the area. WWTR’s facilities include a 1/4-mile drag strip, 1.25-mile superspeedway, recently-expanded 2.0-mile road course, a state-of-the-art karting facility, a 14-acre, multi-purpose dirt off-road venue and the Gateway Drive-In Theater at World Wide Technology Raceway (a drive-in entertainment venue able to accommodate 3,000 cars). WWTR acquired Gateway National Golf Links, adjacent to the speedway property, in 2019. WWTR was the recipient of the 2017 Outstanding Facility of the Year Award from the Race Track Business Conference and the 2017 Spirit of St. Louis Award from the St. Louis Attractions Association. In 2018, owner and CEO Curtis Francois received the Innovator Award from the St. Louis Convention & Visitors Commission in recognition of his work for restoring World Wide Technology Raceway (known then as Gateway Motorsports Park) to prominence.

Latest Posts

Related Posts

Sesti, Albietz win final WWTR drag race of 2023

ST. LOUIS (November 6, 2023) – Greg Sesti of St. Charles, Missouri, won the final drag meet of the 2023 season at World Wide Technology Raceway on Saturday, November 4. The Super Saturday event officially closed WWTR’s 2023 season. Sesti defeated Andy Hartline of Granite City, Illinois in the 1/8-Mile Box finale. Nick Stewart of

Read More